Muppet Fans :: How I Do Adore Them

1 May

Remember when I instated Muppet Monday’s for this wordpress way back in January? Yeah? … No? Well, yeah, probably because I only ever did one Muppet Monday entry… ever (and it was a pretty crummy topic to write about too). I may try to revive it, but I’m not holding my breath.

However! It is a Monday, and this is an entry that is Muppet related, marking this the second Muppet Monday of all time for this blog! *flails arms in the fashion a la Kermit the Frog* Yaaaaaaaaaay!

So what Muppety goodness am I going to be preaching on today?

Muppet people.

Oh, but not, y’know, the people who go and make the Muppets what they are. No, no, no. I could write about the performers, writers, creative staff, and all the other people behind the Muppets endlessly, I am sure, but that’s not the subject I want to touch on today.

I want to talk about Muppet fans.

This is, albeit, not the first time I’ve expressed my love of the Muppet fandom through writing. I’ve mentioned it in past blog entries, on my tumblr, in tweets, on Muppet forums, and in facebook statuses. For some reason, in the past, I’ve almost always thrown in the phrase “it’s hard to express why I love Muppet [people] so much”, but you know something? It’s not. It’s really not.

The Muppet fandom is a treasure. It is like some hidden secret that normally you’d need some crazy ass journey, like the Da Vinci Code or a map on the back of the Declaration of Independence, in order to discover it, but somehow I stumbled into it purely by accident. I was lucky. Only a few days after falling entirely in love with the Muppets, I discovered that there is quite the online community, and they are a force to be reckoned with.

I was astounded. They were welcoming. They were warm. They were everything a fandom should be. I have spent my entire life going from fan base to fan base to fan base, and while each one was wonderful in certain aspects, most were just down right, well, mean.

In the Lord of the Rings fan base I got judged for finding the books boring. I tried to follow a Community blog once, but all anyone ever did was bash Jeff/Annie or Jeff/Britta (seriously. that was it). The Sherlock fandom does nothing but hate on Moffat and make Benedict out to be the star in the upcoming Hobbit film (and while I love me some Cumberbatch, that’s really annoying considering he’s playing a character who’ll be on screen for probably less than ten fucking minutes). Lost fans rarely agree on anything. The Repo! fandom is rude. Doctor Who fans are rather whiny. Red vs. Blue was fun for a while, until I kept getting hit on by creepy older men (I was sixteen years old, for fuck’s sake). And don’t get me started on my hate for Starkid fans. Oh man. I hate Starkid fans. And I am a Starkid fan.

(Newsies is probably the best fandom I was ever apart of pre-Muppets, which is why I stuck with it for years before my interest dwindled. I am, notably, still friends with quite a few people from the NML today.)

But Muppet fans. Oh man, Muppet fans.

I have had the honor and privilege of making so many wonderful friends through Muppet Central, Tough Pigs, and a slew of Muppet tumblrs over the past year and four months.

In the past I’ve attempted to explain my Muppet friends to the friends I see in my day-to-day life. Oh how I’ve tried. I’ve tried to explain what makes Muppet fans so wonderful, such great people to talk to, such marvelous friends. I realize that most people, frankly, don’t get it. It’s become clear that my so called “Muppet friends” are only there to rant and rave with me about… well… Muppets. That’s it. Just Muppets. That’s all. Now, I won’t say that we don’t talk about Muppets, because we most certainly do. How could we not? It’s the shared interest that brought us together; an interest not many other people in this world have to our extremity. But to say that’s all the friendship is based on? Hardly.

There are no people in this world better than the people who come from the Muppet fandom. They are some of the sweetest, most genuine people you will ever meet. As Jason Segel said once, “Muppets are just such a force for good”, so it really comes as no surprise that the Muppet fan base is, in and of itself, a force for good as well.

Muppet fans are all around nice people. They go out of their way to make you smile. They’ll share music and their writing with you. They send you flowers in the mail. They stand up for you. They tease you for silly things. They connect with you about shared interests. They are understanding when you mention that you’ve yet to see a certain Muppet production yet. They make weird, but awesome, inside jokes with you. They listen to you when you’re having a rough day. They open up about themselves to you. They’re there for you.

They’re goofy, they’re insightful, they’re courageous, they’re hilarious, they’re intelligent.

They’re wonderful.

I can’t say it in more simple words than that. Muppet fans are wonderful. They are one of the major reasons Muppets have remained a constant in my life for as long as it has. Without them, I don’t know if I’d be known amongst the SOU Theatre Department as the girl who loves Muppets (or, rather, that girl who wrote that one Muppet poem and has a Muppet tumblr). I’ve only met up with one other Muppet fan last December, and I had a truly fabulous time. To think that I might get the chance, in the future, to meet more of these amazing people enthralls and overwhelms me. Muppet pals truly make every day a little bit brighter.

I accepted a long time ago that Muppets are here to stay in my life, but holy Henson, I really hope these people are here to stay as well.

Now if only I could make it to a Muppet Vault.

4 Responses to “Muppet Fans :: How I Do Adore Them”

  1. Kenny Durkin May 1, 2012 at 6:09 PM #

    I have many communities that I’m involved with, but none is more generous, thoughtful, supportive and inclusive as the Muppet community. Well said, Julia!

    • puckrox May 1, 2012 at 8:51 PM #

      Yes! Exactly! I’m glad you agree! 🙂

  2. BoringRocks May 3, 2012 at 1:41 AM #

    Y’know, I was thinking through this the other day, and I think it’s kind of obvious why Muppet fans are so warm, accepting, funny, and the like: We’re all fans of multiple series that predominantly teach the importance of being warm, accepting, funny, and the like. And I suppose we all learned.

    Take that, Bronies. Friendship’s been magic to us since the 1960s.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012: A (Quick) Year in Review « thegirlwholovesmuppets - December 31, 2012

    […] as a 2012 thing, so shut up. I could write an entire blog entry about my love of Tough Pigs, but I’ve already done that (twice). I would just like all my Tough Pigs, and Muppet friends in general, to know how much […]

Leave a Reply

